RSS

Short Fly Fishing Documentary

08 Dec

People ask me, “What is it about fly fishing you enjoy so much?”  I try to answer them with different versions of how it is relaxing, challenging, rewarding, etc.  Just recently someone asked me what it is about trout, in particular, that makes me go crazy.  While talking with a brother, who I fish with when I can, he put it pretty simply.  He said the reason  he loves to fish for trout is because of where trout live.  He’s right.  Trout generally live in beautiful places and I absolutely love being in their home.

I found this video on the Orvis Fly Fishing Blog and it is an elegant explanation of what makes a fly fisherman tick.  No Zen, no spirituality.  Just an honest, well crafted narrative on a pastime I love so much.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on December 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Short Fly Fishing Documentary

  1. Gin Clear

    December 8, 2013 at 4:17 PM

    Reblogged this on Gin Clear and commented:
    Some great Yellowstone scenery. Hope I can get there someday.

     
    • Brian Davis

      December 8, 2013 at 6:43 PM

      One of my brothers took me in August, 2012. I really want to go back. Montana is just unbelievable.

       
  2. Vicki smith

    December 8, 2013 at 5:04 PM

    that was a really good explanation of why you love fishing. thank you for sharing it and beautiful scenery in it! vicki

     
    • Brian Davis

      December 9, 2013 at 11:05 PM

      Glad you liked it, Vicki. Really kind of sums up how many who fly fish feel.

       
  3. Patrons of the Pit

    December 9, 2013 at 10:20 AM

    Reblogged this on Patrons of the Pit and commented:
    We love to BBQ, but I think we love fishing more…. This documentary explains why fly fishing is poetry on a stick. A beautiful documentary. Good job!!

     
    • richardmax22

      December 9, 2013 at 1:30 PM

      To this day I can still remember the first time I saw someone flyfishing on a lake. I was about 14 and the flyline was glistening in the setting sun. I was mezmorized. It ended up that very gentleman took me under his wing and taught me not only how to fly fish, but how to tie flies. I remeber his name to this day. Grant Putnum.

       
      • Brian Davis

        December 9, 2013 at 11:04 PM

        Most people I know who fly fish had a mentor. Mine was my oldest bother, who introduced me to the sport and who is a favorite fishing partner to this day.

         
    • Brian Davis

      December 9, 2013 at 11:05 PM

      I was glad to find the video on the Orvis site. They’ve got some good stuff, there.

       
  4. richardmcgary

    December 9, 2013 at 9:36 PM

    Beautiful. This video very much speaks to me. I dearly love fly fishing and stopped conventional fishing well over 20 years ago. I don’t know why I love fly fishing so much but I do. The masochistic urge to wake in the predawn hours, load a large thermos full of hot coffee and stumble out on an icy cold stream to catch something you ultimately will let go is surreal. Yet, once in the cold stream, I become mesmerized with the water, the nature around me, the hatch as it comes up off the stream with the morning dawn, the hunt for the evasive fish and the dance of the line carrying the fly through the air only to land ever so delicately on the water. It is a catharsis as I am removed from all technology – no cell phone, no GPS, no computer, no nothing; just me, the stream, the hatch and the fish. It’s beauty unlike anything else I have ever beheld. To make it an even more ethereal is that I fish only with my own hand tied flies. Catching a nice fish on a fly you tie is just a wonderful experience. I am hooked and will be the rest of my life. Thanks for sharing.

     
    • Brian Davis

      December 9, 2013 at 11:03 PM

      Thanks, Richard. i totally agree. It is very gratifying to catch a fish on a fly you tie yourself. That’s a beautiful description of a day on the water, as well.

       
  5. tmeade2013

    December 10, 2013 at 1:30 PM

    Reblogged this on Outdoor Living in New England and commented:
    Thanks to Patrons of the Pit for re-blogging this excellent short film. We must get back to Montana.

     
  6. som1294

    December 12, 2013 at 2:22 AM

    Reblogged this on som1294 and commented:
    “What is it about fly fishing you enjoy so much?”

     

Leave a Reply

 
Lubaluft

a daily mobile project

Godinterest Blog

Your source for insights and information about Godinterest.com

Toby Gant's Photography Blog

tobygant.com: Just living the dream.

Brian Davis' Fishing Journal

fly fishing, photography and an occasional haiku

maclower

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

The Ozark Fly Fisher Journal

The Online Journal of A Fly Shop & its Inhabitants on the White River, AR

Campbell's Rambles

Texas, history, music, & (maybe) wisdom from Ted A. Campbell

Lori Harris

On Avent Street

Patrons of the Pit

Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

Gin Clear

Fly Fishing, Fly Tying and the New England Sports Scene

Flies Over Nebraska

Fly fishing Nebraska is about more than just the fish...

Pushing the Wild Limits

Go Where Eagles Dare

Photo Nature Blog

Nature and Outdoor Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

How Small A Trout

Maybe your stature as a fly fisherman isn't determined by how big a trout you can catch, but by how small a trout you can catch without being disappointed. -- John Gierach

D & B Ice Adventures

Not just another ice fishing site

Scandalous Fly Fishing Brothers

fly fishing in the most positive way

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,485 other followers

